Ground For a Palace

When I was a King and a Mason – a Master proven and skilled,

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

I cleared me ground for a Palace such as a King should build.

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

I decreed and dug down to my levels. Presently, under the silt,

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

I came on the wreck of a Palace such as a King had built.

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

There was no worth in the fashion – there was no wit in the plan,

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

Hither and thither, aimless, the ruined footings ran –

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

Masonry, brute, mishandled, but carven on every stone:

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

“After me cometh a Builder. Tell him, I too have known.”

Crystal Palace Park, Crystal Palace, Bromley, SE19

From Rudyard Kipling’s The Palace (1925)

Leave a Reply

