Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King

Eli Sunday: Oh, Daniel, please… I’m in desperate times. I need a friend… I feel the walls closing in.

Sir Edwin Lutyens and Frederick Gibberd's Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, Merseyside, L3

I’ve sinned! I need help! I’m a sinner! I’ve let the Devil grab hold of me in ways I never imagined! I’m so full of sin.

Sir Edwin Lutyens and Frederick Gibberd's Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, Merseyside, L3

Plainview: The Lord sometimes challenges us, doesn’t he?

Sir Edwin Lutyens and Frederick Gibberd's Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King, Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, Merseyside, L3

Eli Sunday: Oh yes he does! Yes he does! Oh! He’s completely failed to alert me to the recent panic in our economy and this! I must have this!

From Paul Thomas Anderson’s screenplay for There Will Be Blood (2007)

Leave a Reply

