Create Myself Anew

‘Tis true my form is something odd,

Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

But blaming me is blaming God;

Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

Could I create myself anew

Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

I would not fail in pleasing you.

Bomb damage in the Post Mortem room (1944), Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

If I could reach from pole to pole

Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

Or grasp the ocean with a span,

Works Department staff (1860s), Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

I would be measured by the soul;

Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

The mind’s the standard of the man.

Evacuating children (1940), Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel, Tower Hamlets, E1

Joseph Merrick’s version of Isaac Watts’ False Greatness (1706)

One thought on “Create Myself Anew

Leave a Reply

