My Own Peculiar Way

As to dancing, my dear, I never dance, unless I am allowed to do it in my own peculiar way.

Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron’s Laban Dance Centre, Creekside, Deptford, Lewisham, SE8

There is no use trying to describe it: it has to be seen to be believed. The last house I tried it in, the floor broke through. But then it was a poor sort of floor — the beams were only six inches thick, hardly worth calling beams at all: stone arches are much more sensible, when any dancing, of my peculiar kind, is to be done.

Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron’s Laban Dance Centre, Creekside, Deptford, Lewisham, SE8

Did you ever see the Rhinoceros, and the Hippopotamus, at the Zoological Gardens, trying to dance a minuet together? It is a touching sight.

Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron’s Laban Dance Centre, Creekside, Deptford, Lewisham, SE8

Lewis Carroll’s letter to Gaynor Simpson (1873)

Leave a Reply

