This Side of Paradise

I simply state that I’m a product of a versatile mind in a restless generation — with every reason to throw my mind and pen in with the radicals.

Barbara Rich's Angel Wings, Liverpool Road, Islington, N1

Even if, deep in my heart, I thought we were all blind atoms in a world as limited as a stroke of a pendulum, I and my sort would struggle against tradition; try, at least, to displace old cants with new ones.

Battersea Park, Battersea, Wandsworth, SW11

I’ve thought I was right about life at various times, but faith is difficult.

Colchester War Memorial, Cowdray Crescent, Colchester, Essex, CO1

One thing I know. If living isn’t seeking for the grail it may be a damned amusing game.

From F Scott Fitzgerald’s This Side of Paradise (1920)

2 thoughts on “This Side of Paradise

  1. I don’t often leave comments about your work, but I have really enjoyed your stream of photographs. This last group was particularly nice. Keep up the good work.

    Happy holidays. Have a rich and rewarding and challenging new year.

Leave a Reply

